Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

​ Meet The Governors of Merriott and Haselbury Federation

The Governors of Merriott First School and Haselbury Church of England Plucknett First School voted to Federate during Summer 2017 and a new joint governing board across both schools was formed on the 26th June 2017. Both schools in the academic year 2016/2017 were already working in close collaboration led by Mr Smith, Executive Headteacher.

Whilst maintaining the ethos and distinctiveness of each school, the federation will allow the efficient sharing of expertise and systems to improve outcomes for all pupils across both schools. These include:

  • Giving our children greater opportunities to learn together with other first school pupils from a neighbouring village. 
  • Teachers being able to collaborate closely to share good practice and expertise with the purpose of improving teaching further in both schools.
  • Sharing of staff development and training opportunities in order that the schools continue to improve in the key areas such as Mathematics and English teaching.
  • Sharing resources so that budgets can go further and can be focused on pupil learning.​
The Schools Governing Body is made up of the following representatives:
  • One governor appointed by the Local Authority
  • Two parent governors
  • One Headteacher
  • One staff governor
  • Five co-opted governors
  • Two Foundation Governors

The governors meet at least nine times a year and all business is completed in these meetings.  There is a finance task group which reports to the FGB.  They receive reports from the Headteacher concerning relevant school matters and discuss various topics relating to the efficient running of the School.




Mrs Louise Frackiewicz

Co-Opted Governor
Term of Office
26.06.17 - 25.06.21


Mrs Jill Tutcher
(Vice Chair)

Co-opted Governor
Safeguarding Governor
Term of Office
26.06.17 -  25.06.21



Mr Philip Smith
Executive Headteacher

Jonathan 2.jpg

Rev Jonathan Morris
Ex-Officio Governor
Term of Office
11.12.13 - 10.12.17​


​Mr Robert Harwood-Smith

Co-opt Governor
Term of Office
26.06.17 - 25.06.21


Mrs Heather Copping

Support for Health and Safety
Staff Governor
Term of Office
26.06.17 -  25.06.21

Lisa Wakeman.png

Mrs Lisa Wakeman

Co-Opted Governor
Term of Office
26.06.17 - 25.06.21
George Smith.jpg

Mr George Smith​
Parent Governor
Term of Office
26.06.17 - 25.06.21
Mrs Sophie Thompson
Parent Governor
Safeguarding Governor/SEN
Term of Office
26.06.17 - 25.06.21

Mrs Pauline Bailey
Co-Opted Governor
Term of Office
26.06.17 - 25.06.21

Hilary Dane.png

Mrs Hil Daynes
Foundation Governor
Health & Safety Governor
Term of Office
26.06.17 - 25.06.21

Janet Lamb amended.png

Mrs Janet Lamb
LEA Governor
Term of Office
26.06.17 - 25.06.21


Bridget Reader.png

Mrs Bridget Reader
Associate Governor



 Governors are required to declare any material interests and relationships they may have between each other and school staff. None of the current governors have any relationships which need declaring .​