Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

The Governing Board

This school is a voluntary aided school in the trusteeship of the Clifton Diocese and is reconstituted in line with statutory guidance from 26 January 2015.  There are 12 Governors appointed:

  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 LA Governor
  • 2 Staff Governors (including the Headteacher)
  • 7 Foundation Governors

What do Governors do?

The governors act as a "critical friend" to the school, monitoring and overseeing the smooth running of the school and supporting and listening to staff and parents.  The governing board is responsible for the overall management of the school and for determining its aims, objectives and policies in accordance with all the relevant legislation. 
The Head manages the school from day to day and is the governing board's principal professional adviser who assists it with the formulation and implementation of its aims, objectives, policies and plans.
School governors help schools provide the best possible education for their pupils:
  • thinking and working strategically to help raise standards;
  • monitoring and evaluating progress towards the school's priorities and targets;
  • supporting the head and staff as well as challenging their expectations;
  • accounting to all stakeholders for the school's overall performance and for the decisions they have made. 

Full Governing Board Minutes   

Please see below minutes from Full Governing Board Meetings.

 Governor Minutes

FGB Minutes 07 09 15.pdf
18/03/2016 12:32 PMNo presence informationSiana.Frampton - SCH.059
FGB Minutes 11.01.2016.pdf
09/06/2016 02:41 PMNo presence informationSiana.Frampton - SCH.059
FGB Minutes 12 09 2016.pdf
26/01/2017 02:11 PMNo presence informationSiana.Frampton - SCH.059
FGB Minutes 18.07.2016.pdf
28/09/2016 02:35 PMNo presence informationSiana.Frampton - SCH.059
FGB Minutes 25 04 2016.pdf
21/07/2016 02:31 PMNo presence informationSiana.Frampton - SCH.059

Chair's Summary

Please see below a summary from the Chair of Governors for the work of the Governing Body over the academic years.

 Chair's Summary

St Joseph's Chair of Governors Summary Report 2014 - 2015.pdf
16/10/2015 01:09 PMNo presence informationSiana.Frampton - SCH.059
St Joseph's Chair of Governors Summary Report 2015 - 2016.pdf
21/07/2016 02:18 PMNo presence informationSiana.Frampton - SCH.059

School Governors
Chair of Governors: Christopher Jarvis  
Vice Chair: Helen Scott
  Clerk to Governors: Siana Frampton 
Temporary Headteacher
   Richard Simmonds
Foundation Governors
 Peter d'Ambrumenil, Roger Ballantine, Agnieszka Banks, James Heslop, Christopher Jarvis, Helen Scott

LA Governor
Catherine Christie
Parent Governors
Helen Thorn
Staff Governor
 Helen Hannigan
Associate Members
Melanie Moyse and Alison Setter